Wednesday afternoon we got to do an unexpected trial run at labor and delivery. I called my OB in morning with some questions/concerns about things I was experiencing and they told me I needed to go ahead and go to the hospital. I knew I wasn’t in labor but they insisted that I had to still get checked out. 

About 4 p.m. we met Hubs at the hospital and headed on up to L & D. It took awhile to register and get checked in but at least we are now pre-registered for the “big day.” After we completed all of our paperwork we moved on over to our L & D suite. The nurse hooked me up to a fetal monitor which baby g tried to kick off with his mad kicking skillz. The nurse did an exam on me and one other test. The test came back ok thankfully. After my exam we learned that I was dilated 2 centimeters already. At first I was thinking, “Wow, I am already dilated!” But then I remembered that I was dilated 1 centimeter at 36 weeks and then little buddy was born at 37 weeks. I am 35 weeks today so I don’t really think it’s that odd that I am already dilated a bit. I wouldn’t be surprised if I did go into labor before my due date though. 

Although I don’t particularly like to hang out at hospitals for fun we did have a very pleasant experience at L & D. Since we had little buddy in WA it was nice to “preview” the maternity services here in GA prior to the big day. The rooms are HUGE and very comfortable. I thought our room in WA was nice and a decent size but our room yesterday was easily double the size. In addition to our room being great, so was our nurse and the care we received. Our nurse was awesome. She was very kind and oh so helpful.  I felt kind of silly even being there but I didn’t really have a choice since my OB made me go. She re-assured me that it is always better to be safe than sorry. 

Having a little “dress rehearsal” if you will put my mind at ease about delivering at a new (to us anyways) hospital. And it really made it a reality that, “Hey we’ll be doing this again very soon.” I was kind of sad that we had to leave the hospital minus LB² but I want him to come when he is ready and it is safe for him to enter this world. Until then………………

