I guess no one told me parenting/motherhood would be easy, but I still kind of thought to myself, “really how hard can this be?” I am pretty sure I went into this gig {as I am sure most gals do} sort of expecting that being a SAHM would be like playing house.  A grown up version of playing house of course. Well it’s not like playing house at all. Unless in your version of “house” you find yourself wanting to lock yourself in the bathroom and cry…………

These days I am really learning how hard parenting really is. It’s tiring and it’s stressful.  Don’t get me wrong it can also be very rewarding and a true joy. But right now it’s just plain hard. Particularly being the mom of a toddler.

Recently the little buddy has started throwing temper tantrums, screaming “no, no, no, no”,and  hitting on occassion.  This morning at MOPS I was walking past the nursery and I heard my son yelling “NO,NO,NO!!!!!!!” I wasn’t sure whether I should run away and pretend he wasn’t mine or go in and claim him. In the end I claimed him of course but honestly I found myself a bit embarrassed by his behavior.

His recent behavior makes me wonder where I have  failed as a mother. Surely his behavior must be the result of my parenting. Right? I know this is not entirely true but is can sure feel like it most of the time. Somedays I feel like I tell him ” NO” or “Don’t” about a thousand times a day. And I wonder why he says, “NO?” HA!

Yesterday I caught myself thinking, “what in the heck happened to my sweet little boy? Where has he gone and will he be coming back anytime soon? I sure these new things my toddler is doing are normal for his age or are related to his reaction of the new baby. Maybe a little bit of both. Whatever the case I sure hope this is a phase, one he will outgrow quickly. 

If anyone has any suggestions on how to survive your toddler PLEASE, PLEASE leave me a comment!

An if you think of it will you please say a prayer for me.

That I will:

make wise decisions as a parent.

set good examples for my children.

not be quick to anger.

trust that God won’t give me more than I can handle.

that I can find the right balance of love and discipline.

that I will remember that this is just a season of my life.

*** Ironically enough as I sit here and write this post the UPS man just delivered a package from my SIL. In that package was a book. And the title of that book…drumroll please…… “Bringing up Boys: practical advice and encouragement for those shaping the next generation of men” by Dr. James Dobson.  HMMM, I wonder if there is a chapter on toddlers?

