Our den sort of serves at the playroom/family room.  Essentially it is the room that the kids and I spend the most time in during the day.  At one end we have a seating area and at the other end of the room is LB’s play area.  I decided recently to do a family photo wall at the end near LB’s toys.  I included pics of our immediate family plus all of his grandparents, aunts, uncles, and cousins.  He is at the age now where he can recognize people by name and most all of them by their faces.  Since we don’t live close to our family at all {our closest relative is 16 hours away people!} I wanted to always have pictures of our family around for the kids to see.

CIMG2355

For this photo wall I used 5×7 and 8×10 acrylic frames that I purchased from Michael’s.  I waited until the frames were on sale and then I used a 50% of frames coupon on top of that.  Double discount, you can’t get much better than that.  That made my frames practically free! Not really but they were really inexpensive.  I spent more on printing my pictures with mpix than I did on the frames.

A quick tip for you if you ever do a photo wall of your own.  I highly recommend laying out your frames on the floor so you can arrange them to your liking.  It is nice to have a good idea of what your layout will be  before you throw them up on the wall. I arranged them on the floor and then decided which photos to put in them. Of course you could pick out your photos first and then arrange them.  Whatever floats your boat.  I arranged then and picked out the pics and then hubby hung them. Not a bad deal if you ask me!

CIMG2356

The nice thing about using the acrylic frames is that you can find them at any craft store.  Which might come in handy if I ever want to add more photos to this wall.  Since we are on the move every few years I figured this was a photo wall that would be easy to recreate or add to at any house we move to!

**I must give 100% credit for this photo wall to my SIL.  She has a similar photo wall in her den and I loved it so much I had to copy it.  Thanks LaLa.

**Thanks for recommending Mpix Melissa!!

I’m linking up with A Soft Place To Land.

