Last spring I saw this framed monogram over at Young House Love.  I fell in love with it right away and immediately started scheming how I could get my hands on one!

Halloween-black-crow-consol

{image via Young House Love}

Hubs was sitting next to me on the couch at the time so I leaned over and showed him the print.  His response when I show him anything I want is to say, ” Oh, I could make that.”  And of course that was what his response this time too.

He opened up power point and in less than ten minutes he made our very own magazine monogram with an “S” for our last name. We printed it out on photo paper  but you could also use a heavy card stock.  I found an ugly frame at Goodwill on the cheap and hit it with some black spray paint I had on hand.

DSC_0018_2

Here  is an up-close of the frame I used.

DSC_0021

Right now I have it leaning against the wall on our kitchen counter.  It would pretty much fit into the decor in any room in our house though.

DSC_0010_2

You should definitely head on over to Young House Love and check out their site.  It is a must read for DIY-ers.  Their selection of “How To” posts is BANANAS!!  {Apparently, I have been watching way too much of the Rachel Zoe Project} They even recently posted a tutorial on how they made their magazine monogram.

