No makeover post would be complete without a “before” right?  When I went to search for a picture of our master bedroom I didn’t really have very many.  So ignore Hubs, the new babe, and I in this shot and focus to the left if you will on our bedding.

0115

We didn’t really have a whole lot accessories in the room then and we had that one lonely black shelf up on the wall.  I love, love, love the print on the duvet we had but we wanted a quilt instead and I wanted something a little lighter and brighter.

Ok.  Now on to the good stuff.  The AFTER!!  It all started with some new bedding I bought last May.

CIMG1616

Here’s an up close view of the quilt.  The quilt is white and blue. {with the blue being more of a blue/grey}

DSC_0015_4

I spent just under $80.00 for the quilt, two shams, and small throw pillow at TJ MAXX/HomeGoods. Not too shabby! Our town has the biggest and best TJ MAXX/HomeGoods I have ever seen. I’m gonna probably cry when we move away from it next year!

CIMG1618

{Please ignore the tag still attached to the pillow! I took these pics when I was trying out the bedding to see if it was a keeper.}

I feel like I could use some more pillows to add to the mix but haven’t run across any that I love yet. Anyone have any suggestions on how to arrange pillows or what is a good amount to have? I have to large Euro inserts I could use as well if I were to find some Euro covers that I loved.

Ok enough about the bedding, let’s get back to the makeover.  You remember the monogram canvas that my sweet friend Erin painted.  LOVE it!

CIMG2228

DSC_0025

In the second picture the wall color is more true to what it really looks like in person. {I call the wall color “camel” but the official name is Churchill Hotel Maple by Valspar}

With the monogram canvas in place I still had three more walls to “fill.”  I decided to shop around my house to see what I could find.  I ended up stealing this gallery wrap from the living room so I could use it in our bedroom.

CIMG2338

We previously had it on a shelf in our formal {and I use the word “formal” lightly} living room but I thought it might be better suited in our bedroom. I love this picture but I wasn’t quite sure I wanted a life size picture of us in the living room.  If you think I am kidding about it being life size then you can just ask our photographer Melissa.  She’ll tell you I’m for real.

CIMG2371

See that little wicker chest in the picture above?  I bought that while in college and it has turned out to be a very versatile piece of furniture.  I have used it in a bathroom when I had no cabinet, in the corner of a dining room, in Noah’s nursery, and now it is in our bedroom for extra storage.  The wood used to be a really light stain and I never really loved it.  When we moved it into our son’s nursery we painted the wood a nice chocolate brown color to compliment his crib and it totally changed up the look of it.  The wicker pops so much more against the dark chocolate!  Love it!!

DSC_0050

DSC_0039

And you might remember this mirror I found at a garage sale and made over last month.  It fits perfectly with the decor in our master bedroom.  I would still like to find two lamps to flank either side of the mirror but haven’t come across any that I am in love with yet.  I would actually prefer to find some lamps at the thrift store I could fancy up myself.

DSC_0005

Hubs so kindly painted my black shelf white for me and I decided to hang it back above our bed.  On the shelf I have some pictures of the Hubs  and I, our wedding invitation{ our invite just happened to be blue and white, bonus!!}, and I put my favorite picture of us from our wedding.  We got married in a gorgeous chapel in the ozark mountains that is made entirely of glass except for the beams. And the wedding picture I chose for our shelf really captures the beauty of the chapel and our special day.  {Sidenote: Can anyone guess which Chapel it was?  Those of you from AR might know!!}

Ok, back to the makeover…….Remember how last year I was trying to find a way to display/store my jewelry?  Well I finally decided on a simple white tray.   I can just lay out the pieces I wear often on the tray and then switch them out when the season changes. Ha! Truth be told this is almost all of the jewelry I own! Who am I kidding with the “switching out my pieces with each season. ”  {Hubs if you are reading this…hint, hint I could use some more jewelry.}

CIMG2295

Well there you have it, our master bedroom makeover!

